top of page

Epilogue: One Year Later

It's hard to believe that one year ago today I was on a plane somewhere between Los Angeles and Auckland.

I knew from day one that I would come back from my adventures abroad a changed person.

To be honest, I was supposed to post this final blog a month after I returned to the States. But then the craziness of my final semester of college swept me away and so, here we are. (Excuses, excuses, I know.)

By the way, I graduated! And cellyed in Vegas. And then packed up my life and drove cross-country back to Massachusetts. I guess I have been kinda busy.

New Zealand seems like a lifetime ago yet somehow also like yesterday. I've been having random splashes of memories come up. Little moments, things I didn't think much of when I was there. It's funny what your brain chooses to hold on to.

I also remember all the incredible places I explored: the wine tour on Waiheke Island, chowing on Best Ugly Bagels in Wellington, zip-lining in Queenstown, kayaking in Milford Sound, snorkeling the Great Barrier Reef. I remember the let-downs: Waitomo glowworm caves, Fox Glacier, the food at the dining hall.

I've kept in touch with some people and others I haven't spoken to since. I miss everyone!

When I came back to the States, I had to toss a bunch of clothes because as it turns out, wearing the same thing for five months really takes its toll on them! (Who remembers my ripped jeans? Lol.)

I developed a love for solo backpacking – it's why I chose to drive across the USA alone once I graduated. I think I'm my best self when I'm on my own. The only downside is, no one sees me when I'm like that!

I'm constantly reminiscing on all the parts of my trip: the moments of tranquility, the adrenaline-pumping adventures, and even the dull and homesick days.

The biggest change I see in myself is my newfound ability to live in the now.

I don't really want this blog post to end, because it sort of feels like my time in New Zealand is truly becoming a thing of my past and that makes me sad.

I'll close with a Māori saying that I ended my final presentation with, which has stuck with me since:

Kua tae tōku waka ki uta.

You'll just have to visit New Zealand to find out what it means.

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page